August 2021

Board Minutes

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

August 9, 2021

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the vice-president. The following members were present: Rev. Green, Ms. Griffin, Rev. McJoy, Mr. Mosley, Mrs. Thompson and Mr. Williams, Mr. Livingston was absent.

The minutes and financial reports for July 12, 2021 were approved as presented.

The superintendent discussed Act 1002 of 2021 which prohibited schools from requiring students and staff to wear mask while at school and on school buses. Due to the preliminary injunction issued by Circuit Judge Tim Fox, the district is required to determine if the district will provide a mask mandate or the district will make mask wearing highly recommended. A motion was made by Rev. Green and seconded by Ms. Griffin to require all students, staff and visitors to wear a mask on campus. Also, masks will be required on all school buses. The motion carried.

The board passed a resolution to request Act 1240 Waivers from the Arkansas State Board of Education from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2027. A motion was made by Mr. Mosley and seconded by Mrs. Thompson to approve the Act 1240 resolution (See attached resolution). The motion carried.

A motion was made by Rev. McJoy and seconded by Mr. Williams to approve 2021-2022 certified/classified additional duty schedule. The motion carried.

The superintendent gave the board an update on the Eudora Elementary HVAC Project, Roof work - school wide, Emergency Connectivity fund applied for ($359,788) and the 2021-2022 School Calendar.

The vice-president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, discipline or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return. A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. Williams to approve the contract of Frederick Carroll (middle school social studies and Jr. High Coach), Ellen Alliett (Part-time Music Teacher, Eudora Elementary), Dr. Jhemson Ellis (High School Math Teacher), Sabrina Jackson (Integrated Kindergarten, Eudora) Kendra Madden (High/Middle - Part-time RN), Lesia Thomas (Eudora, Part-time Nurse Practitioner), Ian Trapp (High School Social Studies-TFA), Jase Woods (4th Grade Elementary Teacher – TFA), Tracy Yarbrough (Pre-K Teacher), Ledell Porter (Bus Shop Helper/Bus Driver) and Dessie Perry (Bus Driver). The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:32 P.M.