April 2017

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

April 10, 2017

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the president. Members present were Mr. Collins, Mrs. Green, Ms. Griffin, Mr. Livingston and Mr. Williams. Mr. McJoy and Mr. Mosley were absent.

The March 13, 2017 minutes, financial and attendance reports were approved as presented.

The superintendent presented the following information: A corrected school calendar for 2017-18, the district’s testing schedule (Act Aspire), district’s five year professional development plan, an update on the new crisis management plan being developed by the Lake Village Police Department, Monticello Police Department and the Lakeside School District. The board was also provided with the Mainline Health Clinic hours of operation; the new State of Arkansas Teacher Salary Schedule for 2017-18 and 2018-19 versus the Lakeside Salary Schedule; and a list of openings for teachers for the 2017-18 school year.

The board members who attended NSBA Conference gave reports on workshops they attended.

Mrs. Stone reported that the Lakeside Elementary Robotic Team placed 28th in the national competition in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, discipline, promotion, or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Mrs. Green and seconded by Mr. Collins to renew the contracts of all classified staff recommended (on the list) by Dr. Adams (central office staff, bus drivers, maintenance, janitorial, cafeteria workers and as needed staff members), Mrs. Armour (Lakeside High School classified list), Mr. Gray (Lakeside Middle School classified list), Mrs. Stone (Lakeside Elementary School classified list) and Mr. Maiden (Eudora Elementary School classified list). Also, accept the resignations of Darren Toney (Elementary Interventionist), Teresa Casevechia (4th grade teacher), Janice Lee (4th grade teacher), Stephanie Hicks (5th grade teacher), Leigha Hennington (3rd grade teacher), Erma Toney (3rd grade teacher), Amelia Charles, (High School Biology) and Chris Norton (high school social studies and head coach football/baseball). The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:15 P.M.