April 2019

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

April 8, 2019

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the vice-president. The following members were present: Mr. Collins, Mrs. Green, Ms. Griffin, Mr. McJoy, and Mr. Williams. Mr. Livingston and Mr. Mosley were absent.

The March 11, 2019 minutes, attendance and financial reports were approved as presented.

The superintendent announced that Mrs. Jennifer Armstrong has been recognized as Teacher of the Year at the National Robotics Conference in Iowa. Also, the superintendent informed the board that teachers will receive bonus money from the state for retention and recruitment because the district has fallen below 1000 students. Therefore, money will be sent to the district for teachers who spend at least 70% of their time working with students. The district will be responsible for the matching.

The principals gave an update on all school events and activities in their school throughout the year. The superintendent announced that the board members and superintendent will hand out diplomas to the 2019 graduating class. Mrs. Green will announce the awards and scholarships.

The superintendent discussed that the Southeast Arkansas Cooperative will be working with CB King, York Williams and HeadStart to assess preschool children in the district to establish qualified services for all preschool children in our attendance zone. A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mrs. Green to contract with the Southeast Arkansas Cooperative for $10,000 to hire one HIPPY Paraprofessional to service 30 HIPPY families in the district for preschool youngsters. The motion carried.

The superintendent also gave the board an update on Chicot Act Work Ready Community designation, school bus accident, Eudora restroom repairs, roof repairs and the Maya Angelou Project. Mayor Collins gave an update on the NSBA Conference.

The vice-president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, discipline, or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return. A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. Collins to hire Lori Coleman, as a K-12 Math, Science School Improvement Specialist, Data Analysis Specialist and any other duties assigned by the superintendent. Also, hire Wanda G. Adams as a K-3 Academic Coach, Instructional Interventionist, Homebound teacher and Testing Coordinator. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. Collins to appoint Dr. Vera Wright as interim principal for the Lakeside Middle School; approve Mr. Arthur Gray’s FMLA, allow the superintendent to reassign Mr. James Maiden job duties at his discretion (his salary will not be reduced) and renew the contracts of all classified staff recommended (on the list) by Dr. Adams (Central office staff, bus drivers, maintenance workers, janitorial, cafeteria and as needed staff) Ms. Armour (Lakeside High School Classified list), Mr. Gray (Lakeside Middle School classified list) Mrs. Stone (Lakeside Elementary School classified list) and Mr. James Maiden (Eudora Elementary classified list). Also, accept the resignation of Shane Gosselink (High School social studies) and Della Griffin (Part-time music teacher). The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:50 P.M.