January 2016

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

January 11, 2016

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the president. The following members were present: Mrs. Green, Mr. Griffin, Mr. Livingston, Mr. McJoy, Mr. Mosley and Mr. Williams. Mr. Collins was absent.

The December 10, 2015 minutes were approved as presented. Also, the financial and attendance reports were approved.

The board presented Mrs. Linda Rowe with a retirement plaque for 38 years of dedicated service to public education in Arkansas.

Ms. Sarah Vaught, East Lab Facilitator at Lakeside Middle School and students presented a presentation on robotics to show the board what students were doing with technology at the Lakeside Middle School.

A motion was made by Mrs. Green and seconded by Ms. Griffin to pay the increase cost of $1.48 to the ARBenefits, which increased the district’s cost from $160.00 per month to $161.48 per month for each employee. The motion carried.

The superintendent discussed and passed out financial statements which must be submitted by each board member to the county clerk’s office by January 31, 2016. Also, January was School Board Recognition Month. Each board member was presented with an appreciation certificate with a picture taken by Mrs. Dallas Sims.

The superintendent discussed the school district’s plan for emergency evacuation for the flood should it become necessary; the rave panic button training, active shooters training and board training.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, discipline, or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Mrs. Green and seconded by Mr. Mosley to approve the contract of Greg Pearson (Music Facilitator 6-12), Dessie Perry (Elementary Lab), and the resignation of Kewana Mitchell. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. McJoy and seconded by Mr. Mosley to extend the superintendent’s contract one additional year to an existing contract (2016-2019). The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:40 P.M.