June 2014


Regular Meeting

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

June 9, 2014

The meeting was called to order by the president. The following members were present: Ms. Griffin, Mr. Livingston, Mr. McJoy, Mr. Mosely and Mr. Williams. Mr. Collins and Mrs. Green were absent.

The minutes were approved as presented and a retirement plaque was presented to Barbara Buck for 36 years of service to public education.

Ms. Estelle gave the financial report and discussed the 2012-13 Legislative Audit findings. A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the legislative audit for 2012-13 school year. The motion carried.

The principal discussed changes to the 2014-2015 student handbook and the assistant superintendent discussed changes to personnel policies and all district policies. A motion was made by Mr. Mosely and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the student handbook for Lakeside High, middle, elementary and Eudora for use; and adopt the changes to the district and personnel policies for 2014-15 school year. The motion carried.

The superintendent discussed preschool liability insurance and school board members zones (5, 6, 7) up for election.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, demotion, discipline or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the contracts of all summer school teachers, bus drivers, cafeteria staff, custodians (Ruby Arrington, Chris Branch, and Kevin Burgess), and new staff for 2014-15 school year.


Andrew Aycock, LHS - Physical Science

Kathryn Cole - LHS - English TFA

Desiree Cook - LHS - Social Studies

Chevonne Dixon - LES

Carly Earp - LES - TFA

Lauren Half - LMS TFA

Kerri Hammond - L/EES & LMS Counselor

Lauren Hedgren - LHS - Social Studies - TFA

Jessi Riel - LES - TFA

Pheron Russell - LHS - Language Arts - TFA

Eugene Sanders - LMS

Caitlyn Williams - LES - TFA

Vera Wright - LES


Dietrict Hudson - LES


Juanice Williams - Eudora

and addendum to existing contacts. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. Mosely to accept the resignations of Betty Adams, Melanie Livingston, Sarah Rouhier and U-Rhonda Anderson. The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:45 P.M.