June 2015

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

Staff Development Room

June 8, 2015

5:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by the Vice President. The following members were present: Mr. Collins, Mrs. Green, Ms. Griffin, Mr. McJoy, Mr. Mosley ,Mr. Williams and Mr. Livingston (late).

The minutes were approved as presented.

The superintendent gave the attendance report and Mrs. Estelle discussed the financial report and the 2013-2014 Legislative Audit findings. A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Ms. Griffin to approve the the 2013-2014 legislative audit report. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Mosley and seconded by Ms. Griffin to approve the proposed budgets for fiscal year 2015-2016 and 2016-2017. The motion carried.

Mr. Dobbs with First Security (Beardsley Public Finance) discussed the 3 year comparison of the state foundation funding schedule for the district. A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mr. Mosely to employ First Security Beardsley Public Finance as financial advisor for a period of three (3) years effective as of the date of adoption. The motion carried.

The board presented retirement plaques to Mrs. Alberta Dunbar (34 years), Ms. Linda Armour (40 years), Mrs. Virginia Mitchell (39 years), Mr. Terry Johnson (31 years), Mrs. Phyllis Mills (22 years), Dianne Estelle (23 years) and Bonnie Laughlin (33 years).

The principals discussed proposed changes to the 2015-2016 student handbooks and the assistant superintendent discussed changes to personnel policies and all district policies. A motion was made by Mr. Mosely and seconded by Mr. Collins to approve the student handbooks for Lakeside High, Middle, Elementary and Eudora for use; and adopt the changes to the district and personnel policies for the 2015-2016 school year. The motion carried.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, demotion, discipline or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the contracts of all summer school teachers, bus drivers, cafeteria staff, custodians (Ruby Arrington, Kevin Burgess, Freddie Johnson, Dessie Perry, LaNeice Edwards), maintenance (Edward Mason) and new staff for 2015-2016 school year.

2015-2016 New Hires

TFA Teachers:

Caroline Berblinger-LES

Kanesha Barnes - LES

Amelia Charles - LHS Biology

Emanuel Grant - LHS English/ Language Arts

Margaret Hess - LHS English/ Language Arts

Moniqua’ Shaw - LMS/LHS Vocal Music

April Wright - LHS Math

Other New Teachers

LaNiece Edwards - LES

Olivia Johnson - LHS Home Economics

Heath Mazzanti - LHS JAG

The motion to accept the contracts for the new hires carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mrs. Green to approve the resignations of the following staff.

Eudora Elementary

Virginia Mitchell - Retired

Elementary School

Joshua Courtney - TFA

Thomas Letourneau - TFA

Ashley Lichtle - TFA

Carmen Stubblefield - TFA

Shawnee Bates - resigned

Lindsey Long - resigned

Gina Mazzanti

Phyllis Mills - retired

Debra Werb - resigned

Lakeside Middle School

Beverly Lindsey - resigned

Kaleigh Vance - TFA

Lakeside High School

Alyssa Bodine - TFA

Bridget Bones - TFA

Matthew Clayton - TFA

Scott Johns - TFA

Tori Oxner - TFA

Caroline Snell - TFA

Linda Armour - retired

Alberta Dunbar - retired

Terry Johnson - retired

Cathy Jones - resigned

Wade McDonald - resigned

Admin Building

Mrs. Joyce Vaught - retired

Dianne Estelle - retired

Bonnie Laughlin - retired


Kenneth Shelton

The motion to approve the resignations carried.

A motion was made by Mr. McJoy and seconded by Mr. Collins to approve the addendum to existing contracts for the 2014-2015 school year. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mr. Mosely to hire Dr. Billy Adams as the new superintendent of the Lakeside School District for three (3) years. The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.