February 2017

Lakeside Board of Education

Regular Meeting

February 13, 2017

Staff Development Room

5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the president. The following members were present: Mr. Collins, Ms. Griffin, Mr. Livingston, Mr. McJoy and Mr. Williams. Mrs. Green and Mr. Mosley were absent.

The January 9, 2017 minutes and financial report were approved as presented.

Two students from Lakeside Elementary (Trevin Marum and Jalin Washington) were Region 6 first place winners in the Fall 2016 Arkansas Stock Market Game competition. The students made a presentation to the board. Mr Livingston, the board president, presented a certificate of achievement to each student.

Mrs. Stone gave a report on the Lakeside Elementary Art Show. Ms. Armour presented a proposal to allow Delta Horizon to carry select Lakeside High School Students to Washington, DC and New York during spring break (March 19, 2018-March 23, 2018). The trip will be funded by students and parents. A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mr. McJoy to allow Delta Horizon to carry select High school students to Washington, D.C. and New York. The motion carried.

The superintendent presented the proposed 2017-18 school calendar (#2) adopted by certified staff. A motion was made by Mr. Collins and seconded by Mr. Williams to approve the 2017-2018 school calendar adopted by the teachers. The motion carried.

The superintendent reported on the Arkansas State Board meeting which granted the 12 school districts a five year waiver to help deal with the teacher shortage. Also, the superintendent discussed the Hooked on Fishing not on Drugs Grant, Mainline Clinic Grand Opening and Mr. Collins gave a report on ASBA School Law Seminar he attended in Little Rock.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, discipline, promotion, or resignation of personnel. After the discussion, the public was allowed to return. A motion was made by Mr. Williams and seconded by Mr. Collins to accept the resignation of Jordyn Williams and approve the contracts of Virginia Mitchell and Shirley Smith. The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:40 P.M.