June 2014 Board Minutes

Regular Meeting
Staff Development Room
5:30 P.M.
June 9, 2014 

The meeting was called to order by the president.  The following members were present: Ms. Griffin, Mr. Livingston, Mr. McJoy, Mr. Mosely and Mr. Williams.  Mr. Collins and Mrs. Green were absent.

The minutes were approved as presented and a retirement plaque was presented to Barbara Buck for 36 years of service to public education.

Ms. Estelle gave the financial report and discussed the 2012-13 Legislative Audit findings.  A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the legislative audit for 2012-13 school year.  The motion carried.

The principal discussed changes to the 2014-2015 student handbook and the assistant superintendent discussed changes to personnel policies and all district policies.  A motion was made by Mr. Mosely and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the student handbook for Lakeside High, middle, elementary and Eudora for use; and adopt the changes to the district and personnel policies for 2014-15 school year.  The motion carried.

The superintendent discussed preschool liability insurance and school board members zones (5, 6, 7) up for election.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, demotion, discipline or resignation of personnel.  After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. McJoy to approve the contracts of all summer school teachers, bus drivers, cafeteria staff, custodians (Ruby Arrington, Chris Branch, and Kevin Burgess), and new staff for 2014-15 school year.

            Andrew Aycock, LHS - Physical Science
            Kathryn Cole - LHS - English TFA
            Desiree Cook - LHS - Social Studies
            Chevonne Dixon - LES
            Carly Earp - LES - TFA
            Lauren Half - LMS TFA
            Kerri Hammond - L/EES & LMS Counselor
            Lauren Hedgren - LHS - Social Studies - TFA
            Jessi Riel - LES - TFA
            Pheron Russell - LHS - Language Arts - TFA
            Eugene Sanders - LMS
            Caitlyn Williams - LES - TFA
            Vera Wright - LES
            Dietrict Hudson - LES 

            Juanice Williams - Eudora   

and addendum to existing contacts.  The motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Griffin and seconded by Mr. Mosely to accept the resignations of Betty Adams, Melanie Livingston, Sarah Rouhier and U-Rhonda Anderson.  The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:45 P.M.