June 2012 Board Minutes

Lakeside Board of Education 
Regular Meeting 
Staff Development Room

June 11, 2012 
5:30 P.M.

The meeting was called to order by the president. The following members were present: Dr. Joyce Brooks, Mr. Cook, Mrs. Green, Mr. Livingston, Mr. Geno Mazzanti, Mr. Joe Mazzanti and Mrs. Walker.

The May 14, 2012 minutes were approved as presented.

The board presented Ms. Ruby Jean Rogers a plaque in appreciation for 39 years of service to public education.

Mrs. Diane Estelle discussed the financial report and the proposed 2013-14 school budget.

A motion was made by Dr. Brooks and seconded by Mr. Geno Mazzanti to approve the proposed 2013-14 school budget. The motion carried.

Linda Armour discussed changes to the high school student handbook and Dr. Adams discussed changes made to the student handbooks for Eudora Elementary, Lakeside Upper, Lakeside Middle; and the district student, personnel, instructional and board policies.

A motion was made by Dr. Brooks and seconded by Mr. Geno Mazzanti to approve student handbook changes and changes made to personnel (licensed and classified) instructional, student and board policies. The motion carried.

The president requested that the board go into executive session for the purpose of employment, appointment, promotion, demotion, discipline, or resignation of personnel.

After the discussion, the public was allowed to return.

A motion was made by Mr. Geno Mazzanti and seconded by Mr. Cook to accept the superintendent’s recommendation to approve the contracts of Andrew James Werb, James Earl Jackson, Teach for America Teachers (10): Stevin George, Nabil Hassein, Earl Roach, III, Caroline Snell, Daisy Zuniga, Megan Smith, Kaleigh Vance, Loris Houston, David Paige, Karen Zuniga, Debbie Werb, (instructional assistant, LUE), David Baldwin (technology aide for the summer), summer school teachers, bus drivers and all addendum to existing contracts for the 2011-12 school year. The motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:57 p.m.